Posted by: Jayme | March 20, 2008

Stages of Grief

What are the stages of grief that a parent may experience?

The first stage of grief is feeling shock, disbelief and denial. This usually lasts several days to weeks.

Second, there is an acute mourning period with bodily discomfort as well as emotional discomfort. During this time, people withdraw from societal functions. This can last several weeks to months.

Third is restitution, which happens after several months or years since the child has died. This is when parents acknowledge their loss and what it means for them. At this point, they can accept their loss and return to their routines.

Keep in mind that parents don’t expect to outlive their children hence the grieving period is often much longer than grief with other losses.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: