Posted by: Jayme | July 7, 2008

Thoughts…

When I was ten, my aunt gave birth to my cousin. But a year or two before that, she had been pregnant. She had a son, born too soon- I believe at around 7 months. I don’t know what happened. I know this was 20+ years ago, but I’d think they’d have been able to try to save him, since she was so far along.
I’ve been thinking about him often lately, and thinking about my aunt. My cousin is now 21. Does she think of that son she lost all those years ago? Did she name him? Was there more to his premature birth- was he stillborn? Did he have other complications? I have a vague memory of someone mentioning hydrocephalus or something similar.
I’d want people to ask me. I’d want to share the story. So why is it so hard for me to bring it up with her?

Leave a Reply

Categories

